Manichi Ramen/My Ramen Bar and Natto

After posting about Ramen Hood, Manichi Ramen’s vegetarian ramen was recommended to me. Earlier this month, I finally managed to try it out!

007

Manichi Ramen is actually changing their name to My Ramen Bar “since its easier for people to remember” according to their Facebook page. I did not know this at the time, but I figured they might be a co-owned business. It’s something I’ve seen in several Asian restaurants where the chopstick labels don’t match the restaurant name.

008

The sesame seed grinder confused me at first, but I eventually figured it out. You spin the handle on the top circular part and open up the latch on the part sticking out the of the circle top.After seeing the grinder here I noticed it in the Tokyo store in the Japanese Village Plaza.

011

The ramen was indeed delicious. I don’t consider my palate very sophisticated or capable of distinguishing different flavors and ingredients, so I don’t think my taste buds are hard to please. That being said, I thought it was delicious. I always appreciate bean sprouts and green onions in ramen.

The miso broth was delicious and full. I said the same thing for Ramen Hood, but these are the only two vegan ramens that I’ve tried, not that I’ve tried many, that have had a thick, savory broth. Not a thin vegetable broth which while still good does not invoke the memories of non-vegan ramen for me. What I assume was seaweed (kombu?) was a nice bit of texture that I haven’t had in any other vegan ramen that I’ve had so far.

The really unique, delicious part of the ramen, were the spinach noodles. I had made assumptions about the noodles just from reading the name. I thought they would be light both in weight and flavor like shirataki noodles. They were surprisingly chewy, thick, and having their own yummy flavor. Plus the natural green color is fun.

013

014

The recommendation to try this ramen also came with the comment that the regular serving for the price charged was not filling enough, so I ordered extra spinach noodles along with my order without seeing a regular serving. Thank goodness I was very hungry otherwise I don’t think I would have made it to the end successfully.

As soon as I saw the regular serving of ramen, I knew I had ordered too much, for me at least. Although it did give me the opportunity to try the spinach noodles on their own before being soaked in broth.

However, I was determined not to waste of this delicious food or the money paid for it, so I powered through all of the food. I took a break at one point, but I finished every last bite. I ate practically nothing else for the rest of the day.

017

Here is random photo from the Tokyo store from when I was wandering around the Japanese Village Plaza. These cats were so cute that I had to take a picture.

472

I find that natto is a little to describe because it’s not really like anything else, but the picture above is what it looks like. It sticky and stringy, kind of like a spider web. I’ve never tasted a spider web, but I’m sure it doesn’t taste like one. Natto usually comes with a packet of sauce and mustard. The sauce is the only non-vegan thing in the package because it usually has fish in it. I think there may be some either without the sauce or with a non-fish sauce.

Most Westerners that I’ve heard from definitely think it’s disgusting with gross odor and taste. I can’t really speak too well on my first impressions since I was unaware of the wasabi stuck to my chopsticks from the first time I had it. The wasabi pretty much drowned out everything else. I also remember how one of the Japanese students I met while in college and another student who lived in Japan for a year or so came to miss having natto for breakfast. It’s just something you get accustomed to I suppose.

018

The other reason I went to Little Tokyo was to find some natto. I had a suddenly craving for it. I had natto probably everyday with rice for breakfast when I was in Japan.I think it was because I just happened to see a program where a woman recommended eating fermented soy for breakfast. She happened to be eating tofu, but hearing healthy fermented soy reminded me of natto. I also wanted something simple and healthy to have for breakfast.

I had been looking up markets that might sell the ready made natto that I had in Japan. I found out that it’s pretty much only the Japanese markets that sell ready-made natto. Otherwise they sell the raw beans online like on Amazon. I was happy to find out that Marukai sells them and that they don’t seem to cost more than a few dollars. The Marukai in Little Tokyo doesn’t require a membership either.

Manichi Ramen/My Ramen Bar Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/manichiramen/

Little Tokyo is definitely a fun place to explore with plenty to see, eat, and do. There are plenty of places I haven’t been to yet even with all the times I’ve been there. I highly recommend it if you’ve never been or if you’re visiting L.A. It’s a great day trip.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pinayanimerican/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/PinayAnimerican/
Snapchat: pinayanimerican
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pinayanimerican

Leave a comment